Features and historical curiosities:
This cave, completely excavated in the rock, with its original fossils of shells (dating 2 millions years old) creates a unique atmosphere. The front door looks out onto the large terrace and a the little balcony overlooks the Civita and the Cathedral. It was excavated in the Middle Age and it was used as a deposit by the Abbots of the side rock church, San Pietro Barisano, the biggest rock church of the Sassi built in the XIII century. After the Abbots lost the property of the Palace, this room became a private house of several families. The last family that lived here was the family “Uì Momm” until 1955, before the displacement of the whole area of the Sassi. The nickname “Ui Momm” means “the grandmother” and this name was referred to the old lady that used to take care of everybody in the neighborhood.